« AnteriorContinuar »
use of the public by his present Majesty, consists of a splendid collection of books in every class of literature, mostly in elegant bindings: they amount to about 67,000 volumes. Above this library is another apartment, 500 feet in length, by 30 in width, appropriated to display the fossil and mineral specimens of this noble National Museum; whilst, at the southern extremity, is a handsome and convenient room, containing a fine and valuable collection of prints and drawings. A new range of buildings is in progress on the opposite side of the garden area, intended to contain the Elgin and Phygalian marbles.*
To the north-west and north of London, house after house, and street after street, are raised with such amazing rapidity, that the parishes of Paddington, Mary-la-bonne, and St. Pancras have been nearly doubled in dwellings within the last five or six years; and these once rural villages, in which the citizen retired to his country villa and garden, and where the milch cows grazed in great numbers on the ever-green turf, are now occupied by an almost endless continuity of buildings. Proceeding along the outskirts towards the east, we perceive that the village of Islington has joined London on one side, St. Pancras on another, and stretched itself the White-Conduit Fields (formerly much noted by our dramatic and other poets), to the hamlet of Holloway, and through that link to Highgate and Hornsey. The Regent's Canal, connecting the Paddington Grand Junction and other canals west of London with the Thames to the east, or mercan
"A Synopsis of the Contents of the British Museum: and a very handsome work in four volumes, 4to. illustrative of the Marbles, &c. ; may be purchased at the Museum, and of the publishers of this work.
tile side of the City, and skirting the northern suburbs, has occasioned an influx of trade, and its accompanying warehouses, wharfs, &c., at Paddington, Battlebridge, the City Road, and other places. Passing through the parishes of Shoreditch, Hackney, Stratford-le-bow, &c., it has given new features to those places, and contributed materially to augment their population. At the direct eastern extremity of London, we are presented on the map with indications of the East and West India and the London Docks, those great reservoirs for merchant shipping, and repositories of imported wealth. The St. Katharine's Docks, recently formed near the Tower, will increase this species of accommodation, and be a great improvement to a district where reform and alteration are much required. Among the great works of this great city, no one is better calculated to display the wealth, zeal, and powers of its merchants, than the rapidity and manner in which these docks have been executed. By a statement published by the Committee in October, 1828, it appears that "the first stone was laid 3d of May, 1827, and that a grand ceremony was exhibited on the 25th of October, 1828, of opening the docks. On that occasion, nine vessels, of from 516 to 343 tons burthen, entered the docks to load and discharge their freights. Above 1200 houses, warehouses, &c. were purchased and taken down, to make room for the new works. Acommodation is provided for the stowage of 210,000 tons of merchandise; and, from the improved construction of the warehouses, these goods will be always housed under cover. The extent of water accommodation is above three times the capacity of warehouse-room, and will conveniently contain from 140 to 150 ships, besides craft. The extent of quay frontage is 4600
lineal feet, and the depth of the quays is 96 feet. The lock is 195 feet in length, by 45 wide, and will contain, at the top of spring tides, 28 feet depth of water. Their accommodations consist of two docks, called east and west, a basin, a lock canal, provided with two steam-engines of 80 horse power each. Surrounding the docks are spacious warehouses, abutting on the edges of the docks, by which goods are hoisted immediately from the decks of vessels to the warehouse wherein they are to be deposited. The fixed capital for completing this great commercial undertaking is 1,352,7521.
A Collier Dock, on a large scale, has been prejected to be excavated and formed in the Isle of Dogs, near Blackwall, for which Mr. George Rennie has made plans and estimates. This work, though not at present commenced, it is hoped will speedily be carried into effect; for there are few subjects connected with the wants and comforts of the Londoners that require more effectual reform than the modes of supplying them with coals. It is generally admitted, that there is much improper and dishonest conduct in the agents who act between the coal proprietors and the consumers. Whenever instances of measuring have taken place by purchasers, the measures have rarely ever been found to be fair and full. The writer of this Introduction witnessed a trial of this sort in Brunswick Square, where one sack was found to be half a bushel short. In five chaldrons, therefore, no less than 31 bushels, or one sixth of the whole, would be deficient. This is baseness and black. ness with a vengeance! and yet the coal-meters are sworn to see all coals correctly measured. With this and other similar facts before us, it is evident that the coal trade of London requires alteration; and it is fairly inferred that the docks now proposed
will be calculated to effect much good. Interesting information on this subject will be found in the Reports of the Committees, and in two able pamphlets; entitled, "Observations and Arguments in favour of the proposed Collier Dock," by C. Rowland, 1825; and "A Letter to the Worshipful Committee of the Corporation of London," by John Hall, 1827. These papers are intended to show that the Isle of Dogs, now scarcely better than a morass, below the level of the Thames at high water, may be rendered by art highly conducive to the utility and advantage of the port of London.
The New London Bridge, now nearly completed, is a work of great magnitude, science, and novelty. Its erection, in our times, and following the recent finishing of the bridges of Waterloo and Southwark, is a memorable event in the annals of London. As a work of science and difficult execution, it surpasses either of the former structures; and as calculated to produce great changes in the river itself, and the streets immediately adjoining, this stupendous work must excite our admiration, as well as speculation. Consisting, as it does, of only five wide arches, it allows the rapid tides of the river to ebb and flow with a trifling interruption; whereas the former bridge consisted of twenty small arches, with piers and starlings, which nearly obstructed the tides. To describe the new bridge would occupy more space than we can appropriate in this part of our volume, and must therefore refer the inquisitive reader to the works specified below. *
• « Illustrations of the Public Buildings of London,” Vol. II. 8vo. 1828, in which are references to numerous works on the Bridges, the Thames, &c. . -"Chronicles of London Bridge, by an Antiquary," 8vo. 1797, with several engravings on wood; a very amusing and interesting volume.
SEVEN BRIDGES ACROSS THE THAMES, AT LONDON.
[From the Second Volume of "Illustrations of the Public Buildings of London," in which are Historical and Descriptive Accounts of these Bridges, by J. BRITTON.]
Height from Low-water to Top of Parapet, — Number Materials, and Times of Commencement and Finishing, Space of Solids, or Piers, in the width of the River.
Extreme Lengths to opposite Banks, - Extreme Width, of Arches, and Span of Central Arch,Architects, Surface of Water-way,
"A Prospectus" has recently been circulated, "for building a new Bridge across the Thames from Lambeth to the Horse-ferry Road, Westminster," by Mr. Charles Hollis.
October, 1811. January, 1739. May, 1811.