« AnteriorContinuar »
he marked, and then left his house on business. This servant, in his absence, looking at the workmen, saw a broken stone beyond this mark, which they had not repaired, and on pointing to it with that design, they acquainted her that Mr. Guy had not ordered them to go so far. She, however, directed it to be done; adding, with the security incidental to her expectation of soon becoming his wife: 'Tell him I bade you, and he will not be angry.' But she too soon learnt how fatal it is for any in a dependent situation, to exceed the limits of their authority; for her master, on his return, was enraged at finding that they had gone beyond his orders, renounced his engagement to his servant, and devoted his ample fortune to public charity." Besides various benefactions to St. Thomas's Hospital, and other charitable gifts and munificent bequests, he expended 18,7937. upon this building, living nearly till its completion, and bequeathed the princely sum of 219,4997. to endow it.
The hospital has, in its front, an iron gate, leading into a spacious area, in the centre of which is a bronze statue of the founder, in his livery gown, by Scheemakers. On the east side of the pedestal is a representation of Christ healing an impotent man; on the west, another of the Good Samaritan; on the south, Mr. Guy's arms; and on the north, an inscription, stating, that the hospital was founded in 1721, in the life-time of Mr. Guy.
Next the street, the buildings consist of a centre and wings, and behind these is a quadrangle; while a detached edifice is appropriated to the reception of lunatics. The west wing includes a chapel, in which is another statue of the founder, finely executed by Bacon the elder, at the cost of 1000l. He is here represented holding out one hand to raise an emaciated recumbent figure, and pointing with the other to a second whom two persons are carrying into the hospital. Emblematic medallions adorn the sides of the pedestal, on which there is also an inscription.
This hospital was incorporated by act of parliament. It is under the medical inspection of three physicians, three surgeons, and an apothecary. There are twelve large wards, containing upwards of 400 beds, for so many in-patients, besides whom, the charity relieves about
2000 out-patients every year. The forms of admission are by petitions on Wednesdays, at 10 o'clock. There are a library, laboratory, and a collection of anatomical preparations attached to the institution; together with a theatre for chemical, medical, and anatomical lectures, in which also are held, during winter, the meetings of a scientific institution, called the Physical Society of Guy's Hospital.
New Bethlehem Hospital, Lambeth, is on a scale of such extent and magnificence, that it might be taken for a palace, rather than an erection for any charitable purpose. The first stone was laid on the 20th of April, 1812; but the original foundation, for which the city of London is indebted to Henry VIII., was in Moorfields. The building there was taken down in 1814.
The front of the new edifice is about 570 feet in length, consisting of a centre and two wings, the former of which has a portico of six Ionic columns, supporting a pediment, on which are displayed the arms of the United Kingdom. A lantern cupola rises from the middle of the building, which is four stories in height, and is chiefly constructed of brick. In the hall are the celebrated statues of Raving and Melancholy Madness, executed by Caius Gabriel Cibber, which were formerly placed on the piers of the old gateway of the hospital in Moorfields: they were repaired by the younger Bacon in 1820.
This is an hospital for lunatics, and contains accommodations for 200 patients, exclusive of about 60 others, who have been confined for criminal acts, and the charges for whose support are defrayed by government. There are also apartments for a steward, apothecary, matron, keepers, &c. The building was designed by Mr. Lewis, and cost nearly 100,000l.; with the grounds for the exercise of the patients, it occupies an extent of about 12 acres. The annual income of this institution is about 18,000l.
St. Luke's Hospital, Old Street Road, was originally established in 1732, by voluntary contributions. It was intended as an asylum for such unfortunate lunatics as
could not obtain admission into Bethlem hospital, and is entirely independent of that royal establishment. The first hospital was built at a place called Windmill Hill, on the north side of upper Moorfields. The present edifice was commenced in 1751, but it was not completed till 1786; the expense of the construction was 55,000l. The building is 493 feet in length.
The whole interior of the hospital may well serve as a model for every similar charity. It consists of three stories, exclusive of the basement floor, and of an attic in the centre and at each end. The centre, on the ground level with the entrance, is occupied by a hall, apartments for some of the officers of the institution, and the staircase. Upwards, it comprises the stair-case, a lobby at the end of each landing, the committee-room, and the respective apartments for the master and matron, and for the several attendants. On each side, in every story, is a spacious gallery, occupied by the female patients on the western side, and by the male on the eastern. The rooms of the maniacs are ranged along the south sides of the galleries; the greater part of the north side is open to the air, by wide and lofty sash-windows, secured within by iron gratings. In each gallery are sitting rooms of two kinds: the one is spacious, with tables and forms, and with a large fire-place, inclosed by iron rails to the top of the chimney-piece; these rails are sufficiently wide to admit the heat into the room, while they prevent accidents by fire. In this room, patients that are sufficiently composed have their meals together, and assemble for company and conversation when they think proper. The other rooms are smaller, with similar fire-places, in which patients so much disordered as to be confined in strait waistcoats, are permitted to take their meals and sit together. Every patient has a square room to sleep in, with a good mattress, and a warm bed-covering. Not only are the principal apartments kept perfectly clean, but the cells and galleries are also clean and thoroughly aired.
The number of patients in this hospital is limited to 300. The following results are derived from the experience of several years: the average number of in
curable patients is about 100; the average number of curable patients admitted annually amounts to 110 males, 150 females; the proportion of females to males admitted, is nearly as three to two, and of females cured to males, nearly as two to one. The annual average number of deaths is 27.
Bridewell, Bridge-street, Blackfriars, one of the royal hospitals, founded by Edward VI., is at present used as a house of correction for dissolute persons and idle apprentices, committed by the chamberlain of the city; and for the temporary maintenance of distressed vagrants, till they can be passed to the places of their settlement.
Over the entrance is a bust of the founder, Edward VI. The buildings consist of a large quadrangle, one side of which is occupied by a spacious hall, in which is a picture by Holbein, representing the presentation of the charter of the hospital to the corporation of London by King Edward; and some other paintings. The houses of the arts-masters, and the prison, occupy the remaining sides of the square.
The manufacturers, or arts-masters, as they are called, take apprentices, who formerly were habited in rather a singular manner, and, like all bodies of young men, were sometimes disorderly; but their conduct has been amended and the peculiar dress is discontinued.
St. George's Hospital, Hyde Park Corner, was established in 1735, by subscription, for the relief of the sick and lame. The central part of this hospital was formerly the mansion of Viscount Lanesborough, commemorated by a couplet in " Pope's Moral Essays" for his immoderate attachment to the exercise of dancing:
"Old politicians chew on wisdom past,
Attached to this establishment is an institution formed in 1809, supported by subscription, under the title of The Charity for the Convalescents of St. George's Hospital.