« AnteriorContinuar »
paintings by Cooke, representing Charles II. with devices, expressive of various attributes.
The affairs of this establishment are managed by commissioners, consisting of some of the great officers of state, especially in the war department, a governor, and lieutenant governor. The present number of pensioners is 503; and of out-pensioners no less than £0,000. The former are provided with all necessaries; the latter have each pensions from 77. 10s. to 271. per annum; but paid only half yearly.
THE ROYAL MILITARY ASYLUM.
A magnificent new building, upon an extensive plan, was completed in 1805, situated below Sloan square, Chelsea, as a Royal Military Asylum for educating about 500 children of non-commissioned officers and soldiers; to erect and support which, parliament granted a sum of money, and each regiment contributes annually one day's pay towards it.
Besides these buildings, the Botanical Garden, belonging to the Apothecaries Company of London, is deserving of attention. The cedars were planted in 1683, and were then about three feet high. The pine tree, coffee tree, tea shrub, and sugar cane, are among the curiosities which may be seen at this place.
It will be observed by the reader, that all the elegant objects which we have hitherto described, are situated to the west of the metropolis, and the reason is to be found in the attractions which are afforded by the River Thames. To the east of the metropolis, on the Essex side of the river, the country is low, marshy, and uninviting; on the Kent side its banks are for several miles covered with warehouses, sheds, wharfs, and other buildings, for the purposes of merchandize: but to the west, where neither of these disadvantages exist, the country on the banks of the Thames is covered with royal palaces, and with the residences of persons of taste and opulence.
Wanstead House is a solitary exception to the general rule, and is a truly magnificent mansion, with an extensive park and gardens, situated six miles to the north east
of London, occupied by Mr. Wellesley Pole, who married the rich heiress of this estate, Miss Tylney Long. It was built in 1715, by the Earl Tylney. The front is 260 feet in length, and in the centre is a very handsome hexastyle, supported by columns of the Corinthian order. The great hall is 56 feet by 36, the ball-room 65 feet by 27, and the saloon 30 feet square. There are also four state bedchambers, and a collection of pictures, some of them by the old masters.
Deptford is remarkable for its spacious dock-yard, where second and third rate ships may always be seen upon the stocks, and where the Queen Charlotte of 110 guns was launched in 1810. The whole extent of the yard is thirtyone acres. It contains a double wet dock, of two acres, and a single one of an acre and a half, a bason, and two mast ponds, a large quadrangle storehouse, and extensive smith's shop, with about twenty forges for making anchors, &c. mast houses, sheds for timber, a mould loft, various other extensive work-shops, and houses for the officers of the yard. The number of the artisans, constantly employed, is about 1500. Deptford itself is the dirtiest and most disagreeable place in his Majesty's dominions.
Greenwich Hospital was founded by William and Mary, for invalid seamen, and is situated on the south bank of the Thames, at the distance of five miles from London bridge. It consists of four grand buildings, absolutely separated from each other; yet forming a very entire and most beau tiful plan, especially when viewed from the river, to which its main front presents itself. The four different buildings are disposed in the following manner: Two are next to the river, from which they are separated by a spacious terrace 865 feet in length; and have a grand area, or square, between them, 273 feet wide, with a fine statue of George II. in the centre. Beyond, to the south, stand the two other parts, having an interval between them, considerably less than the grand square, being 115 feet wide; the effect of this is to make that connexion among the parts, which this edifice appears to have from the river.
The northern buildings are after one of the finest designs of Inigo Jones, and correspond in their style and ornaments, which are of the Corinthian order.
The southern are designed by Sir Christopher Wren, and correspond as to their effect, although there is some small difference between them. They have each a Doric colonnade, surrounding all that part which is seen from the river or terrace, twenty feet high, with an entablature and balustrade; and each is ornamented, at the corner seen from the river, with a dome, supported by duplicate columns, of the composite order, with four projecting groups of columns, at the quoins, and crowned with a
The whole of Greenwich Hospital is of Portland stone, except some subordinate parts, which are, however, to be taken down, and rebuilt of stone. The grandeur of the effect of this whole edifice, thus decorated, and presenting so much rich variety without discordance, is scarcely to be imagined. And the effect as to its beauty and variety, is heightened by the grand square and the area beyond being terminated with a view of the Observatory, standing on a hill in Greenwich Park.
The entrance to the chapel is by a vestibule, corresponding with that of the great hall; but not like that, open to the top of the dome. In this vestibule are four niches, containing the statues of Faith, Hope, Charity, and Meekness, executed at Coade's artificial stone manufactory, from designs by West. From this a flight of fourteen steps leads into the chapel, through a most beautiful portal, having large folding doors of mahogany.
The body of the chapel is 111 feet long, and 52 broad, and capable of conveniently accommodating 1000 pensioners, nurses, and boys, exclusive of pews for the directors, the several officers, &c.
Over the altar is a painting by West, of the Esc pe of St. Paul from Shipwreck on the Island of Malta. On each side the arch, which terminates the top of this picture, are angels of statuary marble, as large as life, by Bacon; one bearing the cross, the other the emblems of the Eucharist. In the segment between the great cornice and the ceiling, is a painting of the Ascension, designed by West, in chiaro
oscuro; forming the last of a series of paintings of the life of our Saviour, which surround the chapel.
The pulpit is circular, supported by six fluted columns of time-tree, with an entablature above of the same, richly carved. In the six inter-columns are alto relievos, taken from the acts of the Apostles. The readers's desk is square, with columns at the four corners, and the entablature over them similar to those of the pulpit. In the four inter-columns are also alto relievos from the prophets.
The chapel is under the easterm dome; under the western is the Painted Hall of equal size with the chapel. F The ceiling was painted by Sir J. Thornhill; and at the top of the hall is a painting containing portraits of William and Mary, and several princes of the House of Brunswick. The Council Room, in King Charles's building, is worthy the stranger's notice. It contains several paintings, chiefly portraits.
On the north is an entrance to the hospital from the river. An iron balustrade runs the length of the terrace, having gates opening to a flight of steps, leading down to the water. On the outside of the balustrade is a quay, paved with broad stone flags. On the east and west are two entrances, corresponding with each other, by iron gates, with rusticated piers, adjoining to which are the porters' lodges. These gates are open to the public during the day. The chapel may be seen for sixpence; and the great hall for sixpence.
We may add to what we have said of the rich ornaments of this edifice, that each of the grand colonnades, attached to the two southern buildings, is 347 feet in length, having a return pavilion 70 feet in length; and that they are composed of more than 300 duplicated columns and pilasters, of Portland stone. The stranger, we are persuaded, will return highly gratified by his visit to Greenwich Hospital, which is one of the finest modern buildings in Europe; and without exception, the most superb and beautiful edifice in the world, applied to a charitable use.
The Infirmary is a square building of brick, 198 feet in length, and 175 in breadth. It was designed by the late Mr. Stuart, and is a very valuable addition to the institu
tion, to relieve the hospital from the sick. The infirmary is very commodious, and is calculated to hold 256 patients.
The School was designed by Mr. Stuart. It is 146 feet in length, and 42 in breadth, exclusive of a colonnade, of the Tuscan order, intended for a play-place, and shelter for the boys in bad weather, which is 180 feet long, and 20 broad.
The school-room is 100 feet long, and 25 broad, capable of containing 200 boys. The apartments of the boys are fitted up with hammocks instead of beds. Here are rooms for the guardian nurses, and other attendants: and, at a small distance, a good house for the schoolmaster.
The Naval Asylum, is on a grand and extensive scale in the park, for the education of 3000 children of seamen, who, when of a proper age, are to be sent to sea, if they do not dislike it, and the girls apprenticed, or put out to service.
The present establishment of Greenwich Hospital consists of a master and governor, a lieutenant-governor, four captains, and eight lieutenants, with a variety of officers of the hospital; 2410 pensioners, 149 nurses, and 3000 out-pensioners. The number of persons residing within the walls, including officers, &c. amount to nearly 2600.
The pensioners within the hospital have the following allowances; every boatswain, 2s. 6d., mates, 1s. 6d., private man 1s. per week for pocket-money; and every man, indiscriminately, the following diet: one loaf of bread of sixteen ounces, and two quarts of beer every day; one pound of mutton on Sunday and Tuesday; one pound of beef on Monday, Thursday, and Saturday: and peasesoup, cheese and butter, on Wednesday and Friday. For clothing, they are allowed, in the space of two years, a blue suit of clothes, a hat, three pair of blue yarn hose, three pair of shoes, and four shirts. The out-pensioners are allowed each 71. per annum, for which they have tickets granted them, enabling them to receive it quarterly at the hospital, or from collectors of the customs, or excise, if they reside at a distance..
Greenwich is also remarkable for its Park, which affords some fine views of the metropolis, and of the Thames, filled with shipping, and is celebrated as the grand rendez