Exploring Bach's B-minor Mass

Yo Tomita, Robin A. Leaver, Jan Smaczny
Cambridge University Press, 17 oct. 2013 - 314 páginas
The B-minor Mass has always represented a fascinating challenge to musical scholarship. Composed over the course of the composer's life, it is considered by many to be Johann Sebastian Bach's greatest and most complex work. The fourteen essays assembled in this volume originate from the International Symposium 'Understanding Bach's B-minor mass' in 2007 at which seventy scholars from eighteen countries gathered to debate the latest topics in the field. In revised and updated form, they form a through and systematic study of Bach's Opus Ultimum, including a wide range of discussions relating to the Mass's historical background and contexts, structure and proportion, sources and editions, and the reception of the work in the late eighteenth and early nineteenth centuries. In the light of important new developments in the study of the piece, this collection demonstrates the innovation and rigor for which Bach scholarship has become known.

Comentarios de usuarios - Escribir una reseña

No hemos encontrado ninguna reseña en los sitios habituales.

Páginas seleccionadas


Catholic or Lutheran? 21
Bachs Missa BWV 232I in the context of Catholic Mass
The role and significance of the polonaise in the Quoniam
Bach Count Questenberg and
Some observations on the formal design of Bachs Bminor
Parallel proportions numerical structures and Harmonie
editing Bachs Bminor
a new source
Haydns copy of the Bminor Mass and Mozarts Mass in C
A really correct copy of the Mass? Mendelssohns score
The Bminor Mass in nineteenthcentury England 267
an incarnation in Prague in the 1860s
General index 298
Soarceindex 311
Página de créditos

Otras ediciones - Ver todo

Términos y frases comunes

Sobre el autor (2013)

Yo Tomita is Professor of Musicology at Queen's University Belfast. His publications include essays in The Piano in Nineteenth-Century British Culture (ed. Therese Ellsworth and Susan Wollenberg, 2007) and The English Bach Awakening: Knowledge of J. S. Bach and his Music in England 1750-1830 (ed. Michael Kassler, 2004). His research focuses on Bach studies, manuscript studies, piano education, text-critical analysis using artificial intelligence techniques, and the development of computer software and tools for musicology.

Robin A. Leaver is Honorary Professor at Queen's University Belfast. Former president of the American Bach Society, he has written over twenty-five books, including 'Goostly psalmes and spirituall songes': English and Dutch Metrical Psalters from Coverdale to Utenhove, 1535-1566 (1991), Liturgy and Music: Lifetime Learning (with Joyce Ann Zimmerman, 1998) and Luther's Liturgical Music: Principles and Implications (2007). His current research involves several projects on Bach studies.

Jan Smaczny is Sir Hamilton Harty Professor of Music at Queen's University Belfast. He has wide-ranging research interests, particularly in relation to the impact of earlier music, including that of Bach, on composers of the Romantic era. Author of two books, The Daily Repertoire of the Prague Provisional Theatre (1994) and Dvorak's Cello Concerto (1999), he has contributed articles to a number of publications, including The Cambridge Mozart Encyclopedia (2006). His co-edited volume, Wagner and Dvorák, will be published in 2013.

Información bibliográfica