Imágenes de página
[merged small][ocr errors]


Sylvanus Stall College

Building Dedicated at Guntur, India, April 10, 1912 The Sylvanus Stall Woman's College, ia and modernness of construction. This building, Guntur, India, was dedicated on April 10, like most of those in India, is all on one floor. 1912, with most interesting services.

Many weary, tired steps will thus be saved, India is second only to China in population. particularly in this hot country, where every With its area in square miles equaling only effort means enervation. about half of that of our own iand, it has a This large building is 280 feet long and 112 dense swarming population of people, num- feet deep. It is built of light gray stone, and bering nearly 300,000,000.

it is intended to last many centuries, the walls Guntur, the scene of this school's dedica- being three to four feet thick. The steel gir

[graphic][subsumed][ocr errors][merged small][merged small][merged small]
[merged small][merged small][merged small][graphic][subsumed]


given a little out of much, but very much out receptions and other innocent forms of recreof a little.

ation. Dr. Stall's name is not new to India. His books have been translated into many of the Let each League try to make progress, durlanguages of India, and the Sylvanus Stall

ing the autumn and winter. This can be done Woman's College is only one of his monu

hy better work, better systems, and by extendments in India, for there are thousands of ing the work to others. human temples in that land who owe their regeneration to the influence of his books.

Inasmuch as most of the girls went home One of the most practical and useful ways in April for the hot season vacation, school of sustaining the interest of all is by means of work in the college did not begin until June 1. a reunion of the workers now and then.

W W 5

ITH Albany as the Mecca of 1912 for mahogany to a height of 1'5 feet and covered

the Luther Leaguers, interest is natu- between this and the ceiling with hangings of rally aroused in this beautiful city. Albany is Spanish leather. Upon the walls hang the one of the oldest of the permanent settlements portraits of many Governors of the State.

Passing through a corridor of columns we reach the Senate Chamber. In richness and variety of its decorations it is equaled only by the famous St. Mark's Cathedral, of Venice. The walls are of Knoxville marble, and in places paneled with Mexican onyx. A gold paneled frieze is carried around the upper part of the room and the ceiling is framed in massive carved beams of oak.

The Assembly Chamber is without doubt the grandest legislative chamber in the world. Four great pillars, 4 feet in diameter, of red granite, sustain the largest groined stone arch in the world, the keystone being 56 feet from the floor. No one feature of the Capitol has caused more comment than the pictures on the north and south walls of this chamber.

The great western staircase is one of the most beautiful in the world. The carvings are

exceedingly elaborate and beautiful. It is THE CAPITOL, ALBANY.

lighted by an immense glazed dome at the made in the United States by Europeans. As

top and also by 2,400 incandescent lights. It early as 1610 the Dutch navigators came up

cost upwards of $2,000,000. the Hudson, or as the Indians had christened it, the Shat-te-muc, and built trading houses to traffic in furs with the various Indian tribes. In 1614 Albany was founded by a Hollander who erected a stockade fort on an adjacent island; shortly afterward a freshet of unparalleled violence carried off the buildings. It was in 1614 that Fort Willemstadt was built on the hill near the site of the present Capitol. In 1623 the Dutch West India Company erected a fort on a spot near what is now known as Steamboat Square, and called it Fort Orange in honor of the Prince who then presided over the Netherlands. In 1664 the little village was known as Albany.

The main interest centers in Albany as the capital of the Empire State.

A description of the building which has become world famous may not be amiss. The square on which the Capitol stands contains 7.84 acres. The building itself is 300 by 400 feet and covers a little over three acres. It is constructed of solid granite and has cost about $25,000,000. The eastern approach is the main


ALBANY. one and extends out from the building a distance of 166 feet. The executive chambers are Almost directly east of the Capitol stands on the second floor. The main room is 60 by the City Hall, a handsome Gothic building,

The walls are wainscoted with built of reddish granite. It cost about $325,000.




40 feet.

The tower is 202 feet high and divided into twelve stories, for the storing of records. In the Common Council chamber is a very valuable collection of portraits of the Governors of the State. The original city charter, granted July 22, 1686, by “Thomas Dongan, Lieutenant and Governor of the Province of New York and Dependencies in America under his most sacred Majesty James II,” may be seen at the Mayor's Office.

To the left is the State Hall, built in the Greek style of architecture. Its classic front, with its great white columns of stone and the

those under life sentence. Now used only as a county and city prison for short term prisoners. We are hoping that it may soon give place to a university, if rumor is to be credited.

Although first in war and first in peace, yet Albany has been slow in erecting what almost every other place of any size has donema monument to her brave men who fought for their country.

But before the convention meets in November, one of the finest monuments will have been unveiled at one of the entrances of Washington Park. Its 50 feet of bas-relief will contain over forty figures of soldiers and various arms of service and batteries of horses in life size.

The Nation, a heroic bronze figure 9 feet high, represented as having risen, bearing a sword as the symbol of war and palms as the symbol of peace.

Back of her, to the right and left, in bas-relief, are infantry, soldiers and marines, with their equipment, marching forth to her defense. Across the back of the monument are shown infantry and cavalrymen in readiness for the onslaught. At the west end of the memorial is “Victory,” advancing regardless of the wounds and death, and at the east end the figure of “Peace" places a laurel wreath upon stacked arms, upon which the eagle, as the emblem of the reunited union, alights.

We have given you hastily a glimpse of Albany on its governmental side. Next time on its educational.


THE CITY HALL, ALBANY. deep portico, reminds one of the pictures of Greek temples. From an architectural standpoint this building is considered one of the three most nearly perfect in the country. It is used as headquarters for several of the State departments.

At the foot of the hill on which the Capitol stands is the Government Building, a granite structure in which are found Federal offices and courts, Post Office, United States Weather Bureau, offices of the Surveyor of Customs.

Proceeding due west from the Capitol we reach the State Armory. Its drill shed is 170 by 240 feet. The armory is headquarters of the Tenth Infantry, N. G. N. Y., and Troop B, cavalry. In the basement is a mess hall, with a seating capacity of 400 and a fully equipped kitchen. Proceeding due south we come upon a different house of discipline—the penitentiary, located in the center of a park of 12

Once quite a noted prison, containing 650 cells, it has had confined within its walls many Federal and State prisoners, including

-St. John's German Lutheran Church, Reading, Pa., Rev. J. J. Kuendig, D. D., pastor, recently received from the German Empress a gift of a chalice, heavily gold plated, to commemorate the semi-centennial of the church's founding and the pastorate of Dr. Kuendig, which event was observed more than a year ago.

-The agitation in Saxony and other parts of Germany in behalf of a magnificent Lutheran building in the Catholic stronghold of Rome, begun by the Gustaf Adolpli Frauenverein, has resulted in the gathering of sufficient funds to assure the structure. In addition to the gift of money, the historic Lutheran cities have pledged beautiful memorials for the decoration and furnishing of the church. Eisleben, where Luther was born and baptized, presents a magnificent baptismal basin; Erfurt, where Luther was ordained to the priesthood, presents an altar; Magdeburg gives a monumental pulpit: and Wittenberg furnishes three great and magnificent bells. It is said that the Roman Catholic Church is far from appreciating this great gift of German Lutheranism to the city from the power of whose Pontiff Luther wrested such a large part of the Christian world.


Proliminary Meeting at Dotroit, Juno 23, 24 and 25


N February the Detroit League of Lutheran The subject of State organization was thor

Young People (now a year old) requested oughly discussed by pastors and delegates and its extension committee to work for a State it was decided that we were not ready to take organization As the results, a convention definitė steps towards a State organization but was called for June 23, 24 and 25.

that "A committee of five be appointed by this On Sunday afternoon, June 23d, a mass convention whose purpose it shall be to ascermeeting of local churches was held in Messiah tain, by correspondence, visitation and other Lutheran Church, corner of Toledo avenue methods, of the Young People's Societies in and West Grand boulevard, Rev. A. Homrig- connection with the Lutheran churches in the haus, pastor.

State of Michigan the prospects of organizing Rev. Mr. Homrighaus conducted the open- these societies in a State work and that a coning services and Miss Ruth Homrighaus ren- vention for this purpose shall be called, in the dered a vocal solo. The address was deliv- judgment of the committee, when they shall ered by Rev. Luther M. Kuhns, general secretary of the Luther League of America.

Monday Evoning The opening session of the convention was held Monday evening, in Christ Evangelical Lutheran Church, corner of Melbourne and Oakland avenues, Rev. A. M. Sappenfield, pastor. The vesper services were in charge of the pastor. The address of welcome was given by Harry Feldman, president of the Luther League of Christ Church, to which response was made by Rev. B. O. Steffensen, pastor of the First English and Norwegian Evangelical Lutheran Church of Muskegon. This was followed by an anthem rendered by the choir of Christ Church.


The convention address was delivered by Rev.
Luther M. Kuhns. The session ended with

be ready to hold such a convention and the the closing service and the singing of the

steps be taken towards forming a State orLuther League Rally Hymn. All delegates ganization.” The chairman of this committee and friends adjourned to the Sunday school

to co-operate with Rev. Mr. Kuhns, general rooms of the church, which were beautifully

secretary, who was present at this meeting decorated in the Luther League colors. Here

and furnished us with very able assistance. followed an informal reception, refreshments

The meeting adjourned after the closing serwere served and the Sunday School Orches

vices. The visiting delegates were then estra furnished music and Mr. Anderson ren

corted to Belle Isle for a basket picnic and dered a solo.

here a very pleasant afternoon was spent. Tuosday Morning

Tuesday Evoning The opening services were in charge of Rev. The closing session of the convention was J. S. Blank of Jefferson Avenue Lutheran held in St. Paul's Evangelical Lutheran Church. Mrs. G. Sales rendered a solo. This Church, corner of Sixteenth and Breckenridge was followed by a business session, Mr. O. H. streets, Rev. J. W. Paetznick, Ph. D., pastor. Bardo in charge. Miss E. Helwig was elected The vespers were conducted by the pastor and secretary pro tem. A short time was taken

the music was furnished by St. Paul's vested for the registration of all present. Seven so- choir. The address was delivered by Rev. O. cieties were represented.

A. Steffensen, of Muskegon, who urged the

« AnteriorContinuar »