The Art of French Piano Music: Debussy, Ravel, Fauré, Chabrier

Yale University Press, 11 ago. 2009 - 400 páginas

An essential resource for scholars and performers, this study by a world-renowned specialist illuminates the piano music of four major French composers, in comparative and reciprocal context. Howat explores the musical language and artistic ethos of this repertoire, juxtaposing structural analysis with editorial and performing issues. He also relates his four composers historically and stylistically to such predecessors as Chopin, Schumann, Liszt, the French harpsichord school, and Russian and Spanish music.


Challenging long-held assumptions about performance practice, Howat elucidates the rhythmic vitality and invention inherent in French music. In granting Fauré and Chabrier equal consideration with Debussy and Ravel, he redresses a historic imbalance and reshapes our perceptions of this entire musical tradition. Outstanding historical documentation and analysis are supported by Howat’s direct references to performing traditions shaped by the composers themselves. The book balances accessibility with scholarly and analytic rigor, combining a lifetime’s scholarship with practical experience of teaching and the concert platform

Comentarios de usuarios - Escribir una reseña

No hemos encontrado ninguna reseña en los sitios habituales.


Debussys Preludes
Ravels Gaspard de la nuit
Reflets dans leau Hokusai Edgar Allan Poe and Leonardo
Chopins legacy
The Clavecinistes
Rhythmic games in Ravel
Rhythmic games in Chabrier
Repertoire discoveries
finding technical ease
Brief summary of critical editions

à la découverte dEmmanuel Chabrier
Debussy and the Orient
The Exotic via Russia and Spain

Otras ediciones - Ver todo

Términos y frases comunes

Información bibliográfica