« AnteriorContinuar »
lifications of which the early writers were destitute; but they, in their turn, are totally deficient in the beau fies which abound in their predeces sors; and inasmuch as the display of vivid Genius is superior to that of Taste, so must the beauties of the early writers be allowed to be superior to those of the moderns. The latter indeed possess an easy flow of diction, a refinement of language, a delicacy of expression, and an arrange ment of facts; but in the higher requisites, they are generally defective. We look in vain for the genius and imagery of Taylor, the conciseness and depth of Bacon, the majesty and invention of Milton, or the luxuriance and fancy of Spenser. The difference between the two æras seems chiefly to be, the one deals in Ideas, the other in Words; the former displays Genius, the latter Cultivation. The early writers have formed a rich and exube rant soil, which requires only the skilful hands of the Moderns, to render it productive of every thing necessary to the ornament and improve ment of the literary world.
These sentiments are not confined to a few, who might be supposed to be attached to the writings of their ancestors, from their having been early committed to their perusal, and in consequence having left a favour able impression on their mind: they are the opinions of all who have had patience and opportunity to examine the stores of the early centuries; but many of those who decry these exploratory pursuits, probably never have perused those writings which are to be procured only in old and scarce editions, and are ignorant of their beauties. They would shrink with dismay from the ponderous folio of Jeremy Taylor, though it displays one of the most inventive minds that ever committed its excursions to paper: each page is a constellation of dazzling figures and imagery. They would read with surprize, in some of the early and almost-forgotten dramatic writers, as much origi nality of thought displayed in a single scene, as there is in a whole season of modern dramas. Let them read the "Muses' Looking Glass" and "Jealous Lovers" of Randolph, with many others that might be enumerated, and they will be convinced of the correctness of this assertion. Some late re-publications of this nature have
agreeably surprized those who had been unacquainted with them; who had condemned them for fashion, or, perhaps, because their language was not so refined as what they had been accustomed to. Even with respect to diction, they may be submitted to modern writers as examples worthy of imitation. Our great Lexicogra pher, Dr. Johnson, in his Preface to the English Dictionary, makes the following observations: "I have studiously endeavoured to collect examples and authorities from the Wri ters before the Restoration, whose works I regard as the wells of English undefiled, as the pure sources of Eng lish diction." "The writers of the Elizabethan age furnish expressions fully adequate to the conveyance of our ideas with elegance and ease."
If such are the treasures deposited in these works, which are dispersed in so many directions, that but few are capable of perusing them, is it not benefiting the literary world to re-publish them? and are not the warmest thanks due to those individuals who have the judgment and ability to appreciate and amend the writings of our predecessors in English Literature? If profit was their object, they would more readily obtain it, by directing their attention to the passions and feelings of the day, endeavouring to humour the prejudices of many, instead of indulging the inclinations of few. If dulness was their province, many modern writers afford an ample field, where they could freely range in wire-drawn rhapsodies, till the leaden influence of the goddess lulled them to rest. But, no! animated by a desire to benefit Literature, they have hitherto persevered in their labours, undismayed by the sneers of the ignorant. May the approbation of their country still encourage them to proceed, till they have preserved every grain of sterling English intellect and fancy from the destroying hand of Time; and, engrafting it with the refinement of the present age, exhibit a fertile field of intellectual variety and splendour, not to be surpassed by the proudest displays of Greece or Rome!
I have been led to the preceding reflections by perusing Mr. Dibdin's regret at the frequent expressions of contempt for the memory of Hearne. It is, indeed, a matter of true regret, that a scholar like Hearne, who spent
the greater part of his life in painful research into the MS writings of our ancestors, who rescued many valuable works from threatening oblivion, and published them for the benefit of the literary world, should ever, by that world, meet with an inconsiderate reflection or reproach. But we have derived the advantages resulting from their labours, in the vast stock of ideas they have furnished us, and we despise the hands by which we receive the benefit.
In addition to Mr. Dibdin's testimonies in favour of this eminent Antiquary, I transcribe the two following by Mrs. Elstob, the Saxonist, written in a copy of Phillips's "Theatrum Poetarum," 1675, in a small and neat hand:
"Also William Vallans, the writer of the Tale of the Swans; for the reprinting of which we are obliged to that ingenious and most industrious Preserver and Restorer of Antiquities, Mr. Thomas Hearne, of Edmund Hall, Oxford.
"Peter Langtoft, a Poet that lived in the time of Edw. II. wrote a History of England from Brute to K. Edw. II. which was continued by Robert of Brune to the end of Edw. III. and published by the learned and ingenious Mr. Hearne, in the year 1725."
Permit me, at the same time, to request information whether there is any intention of completing the republication of the above scarce and valuable work, the first volume of which was published by Sir Egerton Brydges in 1800. E.
Sept. 1. HE following Addenda to the
very little defaced, the border seven feet wide, consisting of red, light blue, and grey stones about one inch and a quarter square; the work within the margin 10 feet square, consisting of white, red, and blue tesselæ, of as many different stones, in beautiful reticulated and other patterns, and in the centre four hearts, their points to the corners. The country people soon pulled it in pieces, except about a yard square taken up by a neighbouring Nobleman. In the stratum of loose earth, West of this pavement, were several fragments of urns, some oyster shells, and some large nails,
A bed of ashes lay near this spot, with the horns and bones of some beast. The adjoining fields were scattered over with small stones and pieces of tiles, and some fragments of urns; and a large freestone was taken up and converted into a watering trough; and other foundation stones, The neighbouring wood is called Hall Wood. Five or six coins of Valentinian were found among the rubbish thrown off the pavement, which was supposed to reach further West*. It was engraved by Vertue for the Society of Antiquaries.
In 1798 another pavement, engraved from a correct drawing by Mr. John Selby, to whose father the site belongs, was found on the same acre with the former, and nearly in the centre of the field, and adjoining to it some other pavements, but of very inferior work, and much broken. Three coins, engraved in the History of Castor, p. 283, were the most perfect among a quantity of others of the lower empire found with it.
Near the pavement
T History and Antiquities of Cot boys, but only ment were two large
terstock, Northamptonshire, drawn, up chiefly by the late Mr. Gough, and inserted in Gibson's " History of Castor," cannot fail of being acceptable to your Antiquarian Readers. The curious may be supplied with them in a size to place in "Bridges's History," by Mr. Bell of Oundle. M. GREEN.
"Almost in a line East from Weldon, in 1736, a servant of Mr. Campion, of Cotterstock, ploughing on the edge of that lordship, adjoining to Glapthorn, on a head land commonly called the Gilded Acre, turned up several little stones or tesselæ, of which informing his master, he, with an intimate neighbour, opened the ground, and found a pavement 20 feet square,
Selby's land, on draining which it was found to be a cistern made of oak planks, and paved at the bottom, six feet square by seven or eight deep, entirely filled with rubbish, among which was a large pair of horns of the stag kind, and sculls of other animals, and pipes of wood, which appear to have communicated with the other bog, which probably may have been another cistern. The water is of a mineral kind.
The Church of Cotterstock, dedicated to St. Andrew, consists of a nave * Antiquary Society's Minutes. Stukeley's Carausius, I. 169. Brit. Top. II. 48.
+ In Gibson's "Castor," p. 282.
on two pointed arches, with round pillars, and two cleristories. In the North East pillar a niche; North and South ailes; and a tiled chancel; a South porch of stone with groined arches and three beasts over it: in the centre of the roof, the Deity, Crucifix, and Dove, and behind a church; and symbols of the Evange lists, boars, arms of the see of Peterborough, and a dolphin embowed.
At the West end an embattled tower containing four bells.
On the South side of the chancel, three seats of different heights and a piscina, four feet high by two feet six wide, all under flowered arches. Under the South window on a gray slab, inlaid under a pediment with purfled finials, a priest in a rich cope, and round the ledge this inscription:
Wic. iacet. Magister. Robertus. Wyntrpngham'. nuper. canonicus. ecclie.
Cath. Lincoln. Prebendarius. de Lebpngton. ac. prepositus. prepositur' Cantarie. de. Catherstoke. qui. obiit quarto. die Julii. anno..domini mill'mo CCCCXX=>
cuius anime.... propitietur. Deus.
Between each word, and also between each letter of Amen, one or more roses as are here dotted.
Wyntryngham, by will proved 18 July 1420, directed his body to be buried near the lavatory, on the South part of the chancel of St. Andrew of Cotherstock.
He gave 200 marks to eight priests to celebrate mass for his own soul, and for the soul of William his brother, of which priests, three were to perform mass, successively, in this church, and the others in some respectable places. He also bequeathed a sufficient sum to new pave the chancel floor, and cover the roof with lead. He resigned the provostship 16 May 1398, to make way for his brother William, and, probably on his brother's death, resumed it again 8 April 1401, and died 1420.
This chantry, or college, for a master, three priests, and three clerks, was founded by John Giffard, 5 Dec. 1339, and the rectory appropriated to it 19 Feb. following; but, about Leland's tiine, one Nores [Norris] claiming to be founder, got all the lands, and there remained to it only the benefice.
In the North wall is a locker and shelf.
Within the rail a slab for "Charles Kirkham, esq. of Fineshede Abbey, eldest sou of Walter, by Mary, daughter of Sir John Norwich, of Brampton, who married Margaret Spurstow, of Spurstow, Cheshire, and died 1727, aged 66. He always bore true allegiance to his sovereign; in the commission of the peace a just and im partial magistrate; in his friendship sincere; in his conversation cheerful and agreeable, with a general and comprehensive knowledge in historical transactions; a lover of learning, and a kind indulgent parent."
On an achievement, G. on a bend A. 3 roses G. single, and impaling 0, a demi-lion rampant G.
Three text r's, impaling on a fess, between three heathcocks or crows S. 3 lions rampanț A.
Both quartering, 1. A. 3 boars' heads with a dart erect S. Booth. 2. A. a fess engrailed G. Barton. 3. Az. 3 bars A. in chief, 2 mullets A. Venables. 4. Bendy of 10, Az. and O. Mountfort. 5. A mullet S. Ashton. 6. A. a lion rampant G. between three pheons S. Egerton, impaling Erm. on a cross S. voided Erm. 4 millronds. Turner.
Over the communion-table :
This chancel was repaired, new roofed, and beautified, in the years 1784 and 1785, by the Rev. Sir George Booth, bart. and Rev. Nevil Maskelyne, D. D. impropriators and patrons, at which time they presented to the parish the king's arms, communion-table and cloth, and hangings and cushions for the desk and pulpit."
On the South side of the chancel is inscribed on veined marble:
"In the Vault of this Chancel
lie the mortal Remains of
the Rev. Sir George Booth, Baronet,
Rector of Ashton-under-Line, in the County Palatine of Lancaster, to which Rectory he was presented in 1758 by his Cousin the Right Honourable George Booth, Earl of Warrington, Baron Delamer, and Baronet, to the last of which Titles Sir George succeeded on the death of his Cousin
the Right Honourable Nathaniel Booth, Lord Delamer, in the year 1770,
the decease of the Earl of Warrington, &c. &c. He had the honour
He afterwards married Lætitia, daughter and co-heiress
of Cotterstock, in the county of Northampton, and
and dying without issue, the Title is extinct, as were the former
The Patent of Baronet, granted by King James the First, to the
T. Brayne, London." Sir G. Booth's arms are the same as those on the North side (which belonged to his first Lady), before-mentioned, with the addition of in the centre 3 roses. Rose.'-Sir George's crest, A white lion, passant, passive.
Against the North wall a white marble:
"To the memory of John Simcoe, esq. late Commander of his Majesty's ship Pembroke, who died in the Royal service, upon the important expedition against Quebec, in North America, in the year 1759, aged 45 years. He spent the greatest part of his life in the service of his king and country, preferring the good of both to all private views. He was an officer esteemed for his great abilities in naval and military affairs, of unquestioned bravery, and unwearied diligence. He was an indulgent husband, a tender parent, and sincere friend, generous, humane, and benevolent to all; so that his loss to the publick, as well as to his friends, cannot be too much regretted. This monument was, in honour to his memory, erected by his disconsolate wife Catharine Simcoe, 1760. Under lie Pawlett, William, and John, sons of the above John and CathaFine Simcoe." E. Bingham, Peterboro.
Az. a fesse wavy Erm. in chief, two estoiles of 12 points O. in base a canon of the first. Simcoe. On a shield of pretence A. a cross fitchè G. between three fleurs-de-lis G. Crest, a demi-griffin, below a ship. Crest to the atchievement a demi-leopard holding a sword.
In the South-East aile:
many churches in this county and hundred.
Font is octagon, in three pannels, a cross moline, in two a saltire and a flourish.
Before the church door is the base of a cross, on which Bridges, II. 440, gives this inscription:
Job's Leef [et Tacklen] uxor eius hanc
fecerunt ecl'am [fieri].
The words in hooks supplied from another copy; but this inscription is not now to be distinguished. Nor are the two antique stones, on one of which is cut a rude figure of a man with his hand in his bosom, and on the other a cross, to be seen in the yard near the West end of the church, unless the latter be the cross at the end of the stone bench by the door.
On the South side of the church is inscribed on a neat black stone:
"Near this place are deposited the mortal remains of John Campion, gent. An honest man, who having borne a gradual and painful decline, with patience and resignation, and within three days completed his 75th year, finished his earthly pilgrimage, in joyful hope of re
John Campion, of Oundle, surgeon, his surrection to eternal life, July 19, 1766. only son, caused this memorial to be placed here, as a grateful and lasting testimony of filial duty and affection to the best of fathers."
On the North side of the chancel has been fixed by Dame Lætitia Booth,
within a neat white frame, the origi
nal black marble which was placed CAN any of your Correspondents
over the remains of the Hon. Miss Ann Booth, daughter of Lord Dela mer, in St. James's Church, Clerkenwell, and which was removed on the rebuilding of that church in 1788 with the following inscription:
"Ann Booth, third daughter to the Right Honorable George Lord Delamer, by the Lady Elizabeth his wife, eldest daughter to Henry Earl of Stamford, by the Lady Ann, daughter and one of the coheirs of William Earl of Exeter, April 20th 1651. Shee came into the world, which too much prideing itselfe in her, became unworthy of her, November 24, 1667, shee received a divine summons to repayre to her eternal repose, which her calm soul gladly obey'd, leaveing its fayre mansion to be here deposited with her most noble Grandmother, and her incomparable Brother- aged 16 years and 7 months.
I BEG leave to address the follow
ing Quære to those of your Readers whose researches into Ecclesiastical matters and things of a rela tive nature, may have enabled them to decide in an argument which lately arose in private society, where it is not likely to be satisfactorily determined,
Is a Minister of the Church of England justified *, if he refuse to read the Thanksgiving Service, commonly called The Churching of Women, for a Woman unmarried, should he be applied to for that purpose?
* By justified, is here meant, that he is liable to no ecclesiastical censure for an omission of duty, nor legal prosecution from the applicant herself.
inform me of the number of the Earls of Ormond in succession from James, created Earl of Ormond in 1328.-By the attainder of the Duke of Ormond (which was supposed to have extinguished his Irish as well as his English honours) and the Irish titles remaining dormant and unclaimed for so long a period, some difficulty occurs in stating the succession.
The Duke was attainted by the Euglish parliament only, it not being then thought necessary to obtain the sanction of the Irish parliament. On the assertion and acknowledgment of the independence of the Irish parliament in 1783, it was pointed out to the representative of this illustrious family, that the Irish honours had not been attainted by the Irish parliament, who alone had that power vested in them; he accordingly claimed, and was, without hesitation, admitted Earl of Ormond, in Ireland, for the dukedom of Ormond had become extinct. The English dukedom of Ormond was also extinct, and had been legally attainted. The following perhaps may be a correct series, viz.
James (the second and unfortunate) Duke of Ormond, was the thir.eenth Earl of Ormond; he died in 1745, and was succeeded by his brother, Charles Earl of Arran, who however did not assume the Irish honours, conceiving them attainted. By the decision of the Lords of Ireland, in 1793, it appears, that he was in fact, on his brother's decease, third Duke, and fourteenth Earl of Ormond. He died in
1758, without issue, when the dukedom became extinct, and the earldom devolved to his male heir, John ButEarl, though he did not assume the ler, of Kilcash, who was the fifteenth forfeiture; he died without issue in title, under the impression of its legal Walter Butler, of Garryricken, the 1766, when the estate devolved to from Richard Butler, brother of the sixteenth Earl; he was descended
first Duke of Ormond: Walter was succeeded by his son John, who claimed and was admitted to the honours of Ormond; he was the seventeenth Earl, and was succeeded by his son, Walter, the present and eighteenth Earl of Or mond and Ossory.
A CONSTANT READER. P. S. There is another circumstance relative