« AnteriorContinuar »
about the cause, but the fact is undeni able."
In the first three paragraphs, Mr.
Spain, and in Spain as the rest of
Mr. Harris has written "price of Bullion" in his Index, and "value of Bullion" in his Book, using the terms as synonomous.
In another place Mr. Harris has written,
"This restriction to quantity only, is essential to the nature and very being of money, as without which, it would lose its place as such, and dwindle into mere commodity."
"How could that be called money, the value or price of which was fluctuating and at all markets and in all contracts to
be bargained for like other commodities?"
Mr. Harris in one of the foregoing paragraphs has again used the words value and price as synonomous, and although he shews that money is not, and ought not to be commodity, yet in another place he has written of Bullion as being a commodity." An anonymous writer who published a work in which were observations on Mr. Lowndes, Mr. Locke, and Mr. Harris, thus expresses himself in one part of his book.
"If the intrinsic value of the coins of each nation be the basis or true par of exchanges; then, in case the pound sterling was reduced in value, for instance, five per cent. our exchanges with all foreign nations would fall to our prejudice, in proportion as the pound sterling was diminished in intrinsic value."
"Therefore the then nominal pound
sterling would not purchase so much of any foreign commodity as the present pound sterling, by so much as the intrinsic value is diminished."
In the above quotation, the word value occurs four times. I beg the reader to reflect, whether the word weight, would not have been much more significant in all, but at least in the first two instances, the value being always according to the weight?
Dr. Adam Smith's justly celebrated work on the Wealth of Nations, is in many parts obscured by the want of a due distinction between value and price.
The Doctor asserts and proves that "Labour is the real measure of the
exchangeable value of all commodities," but he endeavours to make labour the measure of price as well as of value. If he had explained labour to be the measure of value, and gold or silver the measure of the price, he would have been much more intelli
The Doctor further says, that, "Labour was the first price, the original purchasemoney that was paid for all things. It was not by gold and silver, but by labour, that all the wealth of the world was originally purchased, and its value to those who possess it, and who want to exchange it for some new production, is precisely equal to the quantity of labour which it can enable them to purchase or command."
The Doctor is here evidently al luding to a period antecedent to the use of the precious metals as money, and consequently antecedent to the knowledge of buying and selling:therefore, the employment of the words price, purchase, money, in the above paragraph must be a misuse of terms. A LOMBARD.
(To be continued.)
The Rev. J. GRAHAM, of Lifford, informs us, that a friend of his lately purchased in Strabane, for a guines, one of
the silver medals said to have been struck on the celebration of the Massacre of Paris on St. Bartholomew's day in 1672. It is in excellent preservation; on one side is represented the reigning Pope, with the inscription GREGORIVS XIII. PONT. MAX. AN. 1. On the other a winged angel with a crucifix elevated in his right hand and with a sword in his left-stabbing a man who with a crowd flies before him over heaps of dead bodies. Inscription, UGONOTORUM STRAGES. The present possesscor of this medal is Edward Pentland, Esq Inspector-General of Excise.
Oct. 23. HE village of Burley on the Hill, in the hundred of Oakham, co. Rutland, is small, but owes its celebrity to the noble mansion of the Earl of Winchelsea, which is the pride of this little County, and must be acknowledged amongst the finest seats in the kingdom.
long range of superb iron-railing separates the court from the road, and the tourist enters between two handsome lodges, after which he has to traverse a walk of 270 yards, to the grand entrance, which is in the North façade. It is difficult to imagine any thing more superb than this grand coup d'œil with the mansion in front, the circular colonade, supported by light airy pillars, on the sides, and the offices on each wing, all built of a fine light grey stone, brought at an immense expense from the quarries at Ketton, and at Clipsham, and form
In the reign of our first James it was purchased by the Duke of Buckingham, who made it one of the finest seats in the midland parts of England. Here the Duke entertained King James and all his Court. Here it was also that Ben Jonson's Masque of the "Gyping a court supposed to be the largest sies" was first performed before the King and his Court. The performers were all of the nobility; and the pedant monarch was so delighted with it, as to have it performed several times during the same progress, particularly at Belvoir and at Wind
In the Civil War the Parliamentarians garrisoned this place; but fearing an attack, they set fire to the house and furniture, and left it. The fine stables escaped, and remain to this day.
After the Restoration, the Edifice lay long in ruins; till it was purchased of the last Duke of Buckingham by Daniel Earl of Nottingham, who re-built the mansion in its present form. (See Plate I.) This family (afterwards inheriting the older title of Winchelsea) have since made it their principal residence.
After re-building the House, the Earl of Nottingham enclosed the Park with a stone wall of nearly six miles round. It now contains 1085 acres, and is covered with very large oaks, elms, and beech trees, of great value, and beautifully intermixed with all kinds of forest trees. The lawns and open grounds are very extensive; and though its surface is flat, yet it possesses some very rich scenery, with a curious grotto, and other ornamental decorations.
The approach to the House leads through a thick shrubbery, so as that the whole North side bursts upon the spectator at once. This presents a centre of fine elevation, 196 feet in length, with an extensive colonade on each side joining it to the offices. A
* Agricultural Survey, GENT. MAG. Nov. 1820,
in the kingdom. Its style of architecture is of the Doric order, but not overloaded with ornaments. The East and West fronts are even plain, and are each 96 feet in extent; and the South front is a counter-part of the Northern face. On the Southern front is the superb terrace, 300 yards in length, and 12 broad, from whence the view over the gardens, ornamented grounds, and adjacent country, is beautiful in the extreme.
This elegant mansion owes much of its modern splendour to the present Earl; for it had been in some parts almost in a state of dilapidation during his long minority; but it is now, throughout, in complete repair and preservation.
The whole of this superb mansion is most elegantly furnished; the bedchambers are numerous; and even the apartments designed for shew and state are still not too magnificent to be comfortable.
The State apartments, with the pictures contained in each, are minutely described in "The Beauties of Eng land and Wales." The Gardens and Grounds are seen to great advantage from the South front, and Eastern wing of the house; the West end is occupied by the Church and its surrounding cemetery; and the views from the terrace, and of the house from different parts of the garden, are very striking. The gardens have enough of the antient regularity of alleys, lawns, and parterres, to serve as a specimen of that style, and they have at the same time enough of the modern taste, to shew that Art has been but the hand-maid of Nature. But the most interesting prospect about the house is from the roof,
which looks down upon the grounds and park, as in a map; and from whence, indeed, the visitor may see the whole of this diminutive county. The Church is a plain neat build
ing, embosomed in trees; and the
COMPENDIUM OF COUNTY HISTORY.
OXFORDSHIRE. (Continued from p. 301.)
DMUND HALL, so called from St. Edmund, Abp. of Canterbury, or seminary in 1317; and after the dissolution of religious houses, was refounded by the members of Queen's College in the 16th century. Of this Hall, Prelates, Carleton of Chichester; and Kennet of Peterborough. Independent Judge, David Jenkins. Physicians, Bate, and Sir Richard Blackmore. Satirist, Oldham. Mathematician, Dr. John Newton. Nonjuror, Kettlewell. Scriptural scholars, Mill and GRABE. Antiquaries, Wanley and HEARNE. NEW-INN HALL was originally called Trilleck's Inn, from its owner John Trilleck, Bp. of Hereford in 1349, but was purchased by William of Wykeham, Bp. of Winchester, and bestowed by him upon New College, whence its present name. Of this Hall, Lawyers, Sir WILLIAM BLACKSTONE, and Sir Robert Chambers. Divine, Scott. Antiquary, Twyne.
ST. ALBAN'S HALL, 80 called from Robert of St. Alban's, a burgess of Oxford in King John's reign.-Of this Hall, Prelates, Marsh of Armagh; Lamplugh of York; and HoOPER of Gloucester. Ambassador, Sir Thomas Higgons, Speaker of the Long Parliament, Lenthal. Dramatist, MASSINGER. ST. MARY'S HALL was given by Henry Kelpe, a burgess of Oxford in the reign of Henry III. as a parsonage house to the rectors of St. Mary, whence its name. It was made an academical hall in 1325.-Of this Hall, Lawyers, Lord Chancellors, SIR THOMAS MORE and Sir Christopher Hatton. Roman Catholic, Cardinal Allen. Poet, Sandys. Mathematician, Hariot. Political writers, Marchmont Needham, and its Tory principal Dr. William King, whose heart was deposited in its chapel, 1763.
ST. MARY MAGDALEN HALL was founded in 1480, by William of Waynfleet, Bp. of Winchester, close to his college of Magdalen, whence its name. On January 9, 1820, the Northern range of buildings was destroyed by fire, and on May 3, the foundation-stone of a new building, intended for the future residence of the scholars of this Hall, was laid on the site of the dissolved College of Hertford, which obtained its name from an inn possessed by one Elias de Hertford, who let it out to clerks about 1281, when it was called Hertford, or corruptly Hert, or Hart-hall. It was established as a collegiate hall in 1314, by Walter de Stapledon, Bp. of Exeter, and was converted into a college in 1739 by its Principal, Dr. Richard Newton.-Of Hert-hall, Prelale, KENN, of Bath and Wells, one of the Seven Bishops. Statesman, SACKVILLE, first Earl of Dorset. Lawyer, SELDEN. Parliamentarian General, Sir William Waller. Satirist, DR. DONNE. Hebrician, Nicholas Fuller. Chronicler, Sir Richard Baker. Of Hertford College, Prelate, Newcome of Armagh Statesman, CHARLES JAMES Fox. Hebrician, Blayney. Saxonist, LYE. Of Magdalen Hall, Prelates, Stokesby of London, Longford of Lincoln, and Wilkins of Chester. Lawyer, Chief Justice, SIR MATTHEW HALE. Historian, HYDE LORD CLARENDON. Civilian, Sir Julius Cæsar. Republican, Sir Henry Vane. Orientalist, PococKE. Physicians, SYDENHAM, Charleton, and Tyson. Poets, Warner and Daniel. Historian of this county and Staffordshire, Dr. Plott. Traveller, Sir George Wheler. Biographer, Phillips. Nonjuring Antiquary, HICKES. Presbyterians, Godwyn and Gale. Baptist, Tombes. Unitarian, BIDDLE.
PRESENT STATE AND APPEARANCE.
Rivers, Bure, Charwell, Evenlode, Glyme, Isis, Ray, Thame, THAMES, Windrush.